Logo: University of Southern California

Eun Sok Kim

Eun Sok Kim, Ph.D. - Professor; Chair of Electrical Engineering - Electrophysics
Research Interests:

(1) microfluidic systems (for biomedical technologies) using self-focusing acoustic transducers and dome-shaped-diaphragm transducers, (2) hearing/listening aid devices using silicon-based miniature microphone and microspeaker, (3) underwater acoustic imaging system and medical imaging system using an array of hydrophones and ultrasonic transducers, (4) piezoelectrically actuated microcantilevers for optical applications, (5) bulk-acoustic-wave resonators for high-frequency (> GHz) filter and oscillator applications.
Biographical Information:

Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering, 1990, UC, Berkeley, CA..

Eun Sok Kim received the B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees, all in electrical engineering, from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1982, 1987, and 1990, respectively. His doctoral dissertation was on the integrated microphone with LSI CMOS on a single chip.

In Fall 1999, he joined the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, and is currently a Professor and the Chair in the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering - Electrophysics.

From Spring 1991 to Fall 1999, he worked at the Department of Electrical Engineering in the University of Hawaii at Manoa as a faculty member. Previously, he worked at IBM Research Laboratory, San Jose, CA, NCR Corp., San Diego, CA, and Xicor Inc., Milpitas, CA as a co-op student, design engineer, and summer-student engineer, respectively.

Prof. Kim is an expert in piezoelectric and acoustic MEMS, having published about 170 refereed papers and 9 issued patents in the field, and is a Fellow of IEEE and the Institute of Physics (IOP). He serves on the editorial board for Journal of Micromechanics and microengineering and as an associate editor for the IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering. He has been awarded a Research Initiation Award (FY 91-93) and a Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award (FY 95-99) by National Science Foundation. He received Outstanding EE Faculty of the Year Award (voted by UH IEEE student chapter) in May 1996 and the IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering 2006 Best New Application Paper Award.

Research Centers and Institutes: