Logo: University of Southern California


October 3, 2011



Ellis Meng, an associate professor of biomedical and electrical engineering at the USC Viterbi School of Engineering, stands at the bold crossroads of medical research. She seeks new ways to deliver and monitor drugs for patients through nanotechnology and wireless communication. read more

Matt French  

Ming Hsieh EE research faculty member Jeff Draper and Matt French of the USC Viterbi School of Engineering's Information Sciences Institute (ISI) are working on reliable methods to detect potential failures, inadvertent and deliberate, in integrated circuits (ICs) with support from the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA). read more


    Kai Hwang, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science in the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering, received the 2011 International Parallel and Distributed Processing Symposium (IPDPS) Founder's Award for his pioneering contributions to the field of parallel processing. The award, sponsored by the Elsevier Publishing Company, was presented on May 18 in Anchorage, Alaska, at the 25th year celebration of the IEEE IPDPS. read more
    Professor Alan Willner of our department has been named the recipient of the IEEE Photonics Society 2011 Engineering Achievement Award. This award recognizes an exceptional engineering contribution that has had a significant impact on the development of lasers or electro-optics technology or the commercial application of technology within the past 10 years. read more

Professor Jay Kuo of our department has been appointed Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security (IEEE-TIFS) for 2012-2014. The scope of this journal is science, technology, and applications relating to information forensics, information security, biometrics, surveillance and system applications that incorporate these features. These topic are one of several Grand Challenges listed by the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE), and IEEE-TIFS is one of the leading journals in this emerging field. read more


Giuseppe Caire, professor in our department, and co-authors Nihar Jindal, Mari Kobayashi and Niranjay Ravindran are the recipients of the 2011 IEEE Communications and Information Theory Societies' Joint Paper Award. Their work on multiuser multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) techniques involves the use of multiple antennas at both the transmitter and receiver of a wireless communications channel in order to improve data rates and link range without additional bandwidth or transmit power. read more



A paper “Design and Optimization Techniques for the Generation of Intense, Ultrafast Pulses with Nonlinear Transmission Lines" by Ming Hsieh EE Ph.D. student Jason M. Sanders won the 2011 IEEE Nuclear Plasma Sciences Society Student Paper Award. In addition, Jason received an Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) Scholarship for the 2010-2011 academic year. read more