Logo: University of Southern California


November 2, 2011


Headshot of P. Daniel Dapkus   More than 70 scientists from 18 teams researching new ways to turn light into energy and energy into light recently gathered at USC to discuss achievements and decide directions. The participants are affiliated with the USC Center for Energy Nanoscience (CEN), an Energy Frontiers Research Centers established by the US Department of Energy. CEN’s director is Professor P. Daniel Dapkus of our Department. read more
Headshot of Chris Kyriakakis   An extensive feature in the New York Times focuses on the psychoacoustics research of Ming Hsieh EE professor Chris Kyriakakis, who is also the founder and chief technical officer of Audyssey Laboratories. read more


Headshot of Melvin Breuer   Mel Breuer, professor in our Department, received the 2011 Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society Test Technology Technical Council (TTTC) Lifetime Contribution Medal. It is the highest level award given by IEEE for technical achievements in testing electronic devices, circuits and systems. read more
Headshot of Bhaskar Krishnamachari   Bhaskar Krishnamachari, associate professor and Ming Hsieh Faculty Fellow in our department, received a 2011 Technology Review TR35 award. Technology Review magazine is published by MIT, and annually honors 35 innovators under 35 years old whose work promises to transform the world. read more
Headshot of Alan Willner   Alan Willner of our Department has been named the recipient of the IEEE Photonics Society 2011 Engineering Achievement Award. This award recognizes an exceptional engineering contribution that has had a significant impact on the development of lasers or electro-optics technology or the commercial application of technology within the past 10 years. read more


Headshot of Dongrui Wu   Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering alumnus Dongrui Wu has been named winner of the 2012 Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation Award by the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society. This award recognizes outstanding Ph.D. dissertations that have contributed to the advancement of the theory and/or applications of computational intelligence. His thesis title is "Intelligent Systems for Decision Support," where he implemented a perceptual computer for computing with words. read more