Logo: University of Southern California

Team Led By Ming Hsieh EE Student Scott Moeller Wins Best Paper Award

August 11, 2010 —

Ming Hsieh EE Ph.D. student Scott Moeller is the principal author of research that received a Best Paper award for the information processing (IP) track at the recent 9th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Information Processing in Sensor Networks (IPSN 2010). The title of the paper is: "The Backpressure Collection Protocol," and the other co-authors of the paper are Avinash Sridharan (a recently graduated Ph.D. student, now at Ericsson), Bhaskar Krishnamachari (EE faculty advisor to both Moeller and Sridharan), and Omprakash Gnawali (a recently graduated CS Ph.D. student, now a post-doc at Stanford, whose advisor was Ramesh Govindan of the USC Computer Science Department).

The IP track is the larger of two tracks at this conference. IPSN is considered one of the premiere conferences in the area of sensor networks, and is a highly competitive venue, with an acceptance rate of about 17% this year for the IP track. The paper describes one of the first real implementations of an emerging new breed of high-performance network protocols that are based on an elegant theoretical stochastic optimization framework. The authors credit EE faculty member Mike Neely for his pioneering work on the theoretical framework that directly inspired this paper.

Alexander A. (Sandy) Sawchuk, Chair of the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering-Systems commented: "our faculty joins me in saluting Scott, Bhaskar and other paper co-authors for this outstanding recognition of research quality!"