Logo: University of Southern California

Petros Ioannou Receives IEEE Intelligent Transportation Society Outstanding Research Award

October 17, 2012 —

Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering faculty member Petros Ioannou was honored by the IEEE Intelligent Transportation Society (ITS) with the 2012 IEEE ITS Outstanding Research Award. The award is given annually to recognize outstanding contributions to ITS research fields and to the ITS community.  

Prof. Ioannou was cited for "Research Contributions in Advanced Vehicle Control Systems and Integration with Traffic," and the award was presented at the 15th annual IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Conference in Anchorage, Alaska, in September 2012.

Professor Ioannou has made major contributions to education and research in numerous areas including: robust adaptive control, intelligent transport systems, vehicle dynamics, intelligent flight control, marine transportation, control of disk drives and others. He originated the design of the first adaptive cruise control system, which led to the widespread deployment of the system in vehicles by almost all automobile companies. His work is published in 8 books and more than 100 journal and 200 conference papers in the area of Controls and Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS). He graduated 29 PhD students, 4 of whom are Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) Fellows and 11 are full professors in top universities. He has received many other awards and honors, among them: Fellow of IEEE, Fellow of the International Federation on Automatic Control (IFAC), Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), IEEE ITS Society Outstanding ITS Application, IEEE Control Society Best Paper and 1985 Presidential Young Investigator Awards.

Alexander A. (Sandy) Sawchuk, systems chair of the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering commented: "Our Department joins me in congratulating Petros Ioannou for receiving the 2012 IEEE ITS Outstanding Research Award and its recognition of his many research achievements in intelligent transportation systems."