Logo: University of Southern California

Ming Hsieh Electrical Engineering Department Faculty Receive 2010 IBM Faculty Awards

October 07, 2010 —

The IBM Faculty Awards are a competitive worldwide program intended to foster collaboration between researchers at leading universities worldwide and those in IBM research and development.  They also serve to promote courseware and curriculum innovation to stimulate growth in disciplines that are strategic to IBM.  

Winners are selected for their outstanding reputation and unusual promise for contributions in their field. Award candidates are nominated by an IBM employee with common interests who will serve as a liaison for the collaboration.

The award to Rahul Jain includes research funding for a project titled "Smarter Cities: A Distributed Optimization and Control Framework for Smart Energy Networks." The project will develop real-time data-based incentive pricing schemes to promote efficient energy usage and design smart grid markets wherein both conventional and alternative energy producers can sell electric power. The study will be done in collaboration with IBM in consonance with their smarter cities initiative.
Rahul Jain received his Ph.D. in electrical engineering and computer sciences from the University of California, Berkeley. He holds a joint appointment with the Viterbi School's Epstein Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering. He received the NSF CAREER Award in 2010. His research interests include: communication networks; network economics and game theory; stochastic control and learning.
Shri Narayanan's award is for the project "Behavioral Informatics," is in the emerging area of multimodal behavioral signal processing. This work will focus on problems of representation and automated interpretation of complex human behavior signals (“behavioral informatics”) with a specific focus on applications in healthcare and business services.
Shri Narayanan is professor of electrical engineering, computer science, linguistics and psychology and the Andrew J. Viterbi Professor of Engineering. He directs the Signal Analysis and Interpretation Laboratory (SAIL [http://sail.usc.edu]). He has received many professional and technical awards and honors for his work in speech and language processing, analysis, recognition, modeling, and synthesis, and for work in biomedical signal processing, human-machine interaction and multimodal interfaces.
Alexander (Sandy) Sawchuk, Chair of the Ming Hsieh EE-Systems Department, commented: "Our department joins me in congratulating Rahul Jain and Shri Narayanan for their selection as IBM Faculty Awardees.  This is an outstanding confirmation and recognition of their research accomplishments."