Logo: University of Southern California

Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff:


Faculty Highlights:
  • Over 40 Fellows of the IEEE.
  • Three National Academy of Sciences members (Sol Golomb, Andrew Viterbi, Robert Hellwarth)
  • Fourteen members of the National Academy of Engineering (George Bekey, Daniel Dapkus, Solomon Golomb, Robert Hellwarth, William Lindsey, Sanjit Mitra, C.L. Max Nikias, Simon Ramo, Irving Reed, Steven Sample, Robert Scholtz, Leonard Silverman, Andrew Viterbi, Lloyd Welch)
  • Ten recipients of the Okawa Award. (Melvin Breuer, Giuseppe Caire, C.-C. Jay Kuo, Urbashi Mitra, Andreas Molisch, Shrikanth Narayanan, Antonio Ortega, Viktor Prasanna, Robert Scholtz, Alan Willner)
  • Four Shannon Awardees (Solomon Golomb, Irving Reed, Lloyd Welch, Andrew Viterbi)
  • Over sixteen recipients of NSF Career Awards or equivalent (Young Investigator award) and Presidential Faculty Fellows
  • Four recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (eight for the Viterbi School)
  • Twelve chaired professorships in the school are held by electrical engineering faculty
  • Nine IEEE Gold Medal Awards
  • More than 50 patents from faculty within the department
  • One Sloan Foundation Research Fellow (Daniel Lidar)
  • One David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship in Engineering and Science (Alan Willner)
  • Five members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (Solomon Golomb, Robert Hellwarth, Simon Ramo, Steven Sample, Andrew Viterbi)