Logo: University of Southern California

2011 Awards

Awards and Numbers

Faculty Honors 2011


Month Name
January C.C Jay Kuo Elected as Fellow, Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
February Mel Breuer European Design and Automation Association Lifetime Achievement Award
February Mel Breuer John J. Guarrera Engineering Educator of the Year Award
February Daniel Lidar Elected as Vice Chair, American Physical Society Topical Group on Quantum Information
February Sol Golomb Honorary Doctorate degree, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
February Patric Muggli 2011 IEEE Particle Accelerator Science and Technology Award
March Mel Breuer Engineer of the Year Award, Sherman Oaks CA Engineers Council
March John Slaughter Honorary Degree, Howard University
April Andreas Molisch IEEE Donald G. Fink Paper Prize
April Alex Dimakis NSF CAREER Award
April Murali Annavaram Appointment, Robert G. and Mary G. Lane Early Career Chair
May Patric Muggli
U.S. Department of Energy Grant
May Andreas Molisch Elected to the Austrian Academy of Sciences
May Bhaskar Krishnamachari Eta Kappa Nu Outstanding Young Electrical and Computer Engineer Award
May Daniel Lidar Department of Defense MURI Grant
June Andreas Molisch James Evans Avant Garde Award, IEEE Vehicular Technology Society
June Kai Hwang 2011 International Parallel and Distributed Processing Symposium Founder's Award
July Alan Willner IEEE Photonics Society 2011 Engineering Achievement Award
July C. C. Jay Kuo Named Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security
July Giuseppe Caire IEEE Joint Paper Award in Communications and Information Theory
August Bhaskar Krishnamachari Selected as member of TR35 Class of 2011
August Bhaskar Krishnamachari 2011 Research Grant Award, Okawa Foundation
September Mel Breuer 2011 Lifetime Contribution Medal, IEEE Computer Society Test Technology Technical Council
October Andreas Molisch 2012 IEEE Eric E. Sumner Award
November Antonio Ortega 2011 Best Paper Award, IEEE International Conference on Image Processing
November John Slaughter New York Hall of Science Distinguished Leadership Award
November Shri Narayanan 2011 Alumni Professional Achievement Award, UCLA Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
December Alex Dimakis 2010 Best Paper Award, IEEE Communication Society Technical Committee on Data Storage
December Sol Golomb 2011 Sigma Xi William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement


Click here to see past awards.